Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Granola bars are handy. We’re on the go a lot, and have to be very flexible with our expectations of how long we’ll spend at any given place on any given day. It comes with the collar, y’all. Because I’m breastfeeding, and don’t eat heavily at meals, it’s important that I eat on time or have something on hand to tide me over until the next meal if I get hungry, so I like to keep a few granola bars tucked into the diaper bag. My only problem with most granola bars is, they’re too sweet. Somehow, I never grew out of my sugar sheriff uniform (which either utterly confuses my husband or remains invisible to him), and while I do like super sweet things sometimes, it’s too easy to get addicted to having sugary stuff multiple times a day, and besides, my teeth hurt when something is too sweet. So I wanted a granola bar that wasn’t just candy, that had protein, but wasn’t flavorless. After a bit of tweaking, I came up with this. They’re not exactly like candy, but it’s hard to stop eating them.

Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter Granola Bars

2 egg whites

1 cup chunky peanut butter

2/3 cup brown sugar, packed

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 cup butter, melted

4 cups oats

1/2 cup peanuts

2/3 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350*F. Line your big cookie sheet with parchment paper and oil it lightly (I used coconut oil; cooking spray or shortening or butter would work fine, too).

Beat egg whites until fluffy. Add peanut butter, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon; mix well. Add remaining ingredients and stir. Spread on parchment paper to desired thickness (I usually make it approx. 3/8 inch thick; I use the parchment paper to help press in and even out the sides, because it doesn’t fill up the whole pan).

Bake until the edges begin to brown, about 15 minutes. Cool for at least one hour until cutting. Store in airtight containers.

Note: if you throw these in sandwich bags into your diaper bag, they will be crumbs before long. They hold their shape just fine when not overly jostled, though.


I was going to take pictures of them cut up, but then life happened. They’re almost gone now. Maybe when I make some more…

One thought on “Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: The Scrawl Vol. 1, No. 20 | #1 Bagshot Row

Leave a Reply

