The Scrawl Vol. 1, No. 10

  
On Monday evening, we planned to have a date in, but Maria was cranky and wouldn’t go to sleep right away, so I started getting cranky, too, especially when Stephen kept talking about his coat of arms he’s been working on forever and making rough sketches of it, because I knew exactly what he was talking about, and knew I could put it onto paper more easily than he could, but Maria doesn’t believe in me expressing my artistic side. She still firmly insists that paper, crayons, and pencils are for gnawing on, and Not For Mommies to Enjoy. But then Maria went to sleep, and I got out the forbidden artifacts, and we finished our Catan game and drank a little Kracken and I worked on a bit of practical heraldry. It took a ridiculous amount of time and effort, but it made us both happy – me because I had the chance to create something non-edible, and Stephen because I was able to capture what he wanted. And of course I did it on lined paper. Oh well. It was worth it. I guess we’ll just have to get plain white paper someday.

  
Somebody scootched waaaay up to the wall during her nap. Which reminds me of a story. Once upon a time, we went to a liquor store in the evening, and the cashier asked if our nine month old baby wanted a sucker, “Or is it too late?” Stephen and I looked at each other. Clearly, the gentleman could not tell that our child was too young. “Actually, it’s too early,” we countered. “Oh, just woke up from a nap, huh? Well, have a nice night.” So we did. Relatively.

  
Sometimes Daddy finds cool stuff when cleaning out the office!

  
Missy was too quick for Mommy! Finally she made it all the way to Daddy! 

  
Hi-sign, Mama!

  
All of a sudden, somebody loves toe-foo(d).

  

She loves seeing videos of cousin Meadowlark. ❤

  

Maria has recently rediscovered her love for peekaboo. It is a happy happenstance. Here she thinks she is hiding from me.

  

I found her!

  

On Sunday, after the church picnic, we had the treat of going down the St Croix on a pontoon. It was lovely to get out of the city for the first time since going to Colorado for Synod, and the peace was balm to us. Since the pontoon was child safe, Maria was able to roam at will.

  

This doesn’t capture the beauty and peace of the place we stopped for supper.

  

Maria talking to Rufus, who was on the other side of the gate.

  

She was very proud of herself for having been able to reach her bowl of scrambled egg I thought I had pushed far enough away from her. And I must say, our breakfast must have been tastier than hers, because Stephen made baked French toast, simmered some maple syrup with Kraken, fried bacon, and brewed some French press. No, he’s not up for hire.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My heart has been heavy for many families that have lost children. I loved the way this author speaks of this grief for others.

This is a really good post that’s applicable not just to spouses and children, but to practically anyone you have a relationship with.

Leave a Reply

